Genetic Evaluation Standing Committee

Objective:

The primary objective of the Genetic Evaluation Standing Committee is to provide advice and recommendations to the Board on specialist matters in relation to Genetic Evaluation and related technologies. Such recommendations will assist the Board in making optimal decisions on strategic and technical requirements relating to Genetic Evaluation and service provision. Membership requirements and functions are outlined in Table 1.

 

Table 1: Contributions and Functions of the Genetic Evaluation Standing Committee

  Requirement / Contribution Function and obligations
Genetic Evaluation Standing Committees

Specialised GE Skills

Industry knowledge

Global Perspective

Farmer Representatives

Industry Representatives

Scientific skills

Provide feedback to the Board

Provide recommendations to Board

-    of strategic priorities

-    operational priorities

Technical review and input

Exercise delegations provided by the Board

  

Membership/Participants

 

Member Genetic Evaluation Standing Committee Membership Nominated by:

 

E:

P:

Farmer chair Appointed by the DataGene Board

Matthew Shaffer

E: mshaffer@datagene.com.au

P: 0438 761 822

DataGene CEO Appointed by the DataGene Board

Jane McLennan

E: jmclennan@dairyaustralia.com.au

P: 03 9694 3859

DA representative Nominated by Dairy Australia

 

E:

P:

ADF representative

 

Nominated by ADF

Jennie Pryce

E: Jennie.pryce@ecodev.vic.gov.au

P: 03 9032 7048

 

Gert Nieuwhof

E: GNieuwhof@datagene.com.au

P: 03 9032 7035

Science representatives Nominated by DairyBio / DEDJTR

Vaughn Johnston

E: vaughnjohnston@semex.com.au

P: 0408 304 526

 

Christian Hickey

E: christian.hickey@nationalherd.com.au

P: 0428 511 628

 

Peter Thurn

E: pthurn@genaust.com.au

P: 0417 575 986

 

Bruce Ronalds

E: bruce.ronalds@genusplc.com

P: 0427 826 054

Bull Company and Reseller representatives

 

 

Nominated by NHIA

Rohan Butler

E: rbutler@holstein.com.au

P: 0428 135 361

 

Rohan Sprunt

E:kaarmona@bigpond.com

P: 03 5826 9506

Breed Association representatives

Nominated by NHIA

Michelle Axford

E: maxford@datagene.com.au

P: 0427 573 330

 

Glen Barrett

E: gbarrett@datagene.com.au

P: 0418 466 371

DataGene

 

 

 

DataGene

Appointed by the DataGene CEO

DataGene Board members may attend

 

   

Member Responsibilities:

  • Each member will be expected to communicate with other stakeholders in their sector who are not represented.
  • Each member should operate in an independent manner with a view towards industry good based on the Standing Committee Values and Principles.